The annual banquet was held Wednesday evening, August 8, 2012, at the host Marriott Hotel.

Thirty-six members and guests enjoyed a tasty meal and good company. Thank you to John Wilson for providing the photographs.


Bob Leonard presented the Odesser Award to Steven H. Kaplan for his article, Hebrew Kindergarten Tokens, published in The Shekel. Steven was unable to attend the ceremony.

David T. Alexander received the Gold Mishler Cataloging Award for his book, American Art Medals, 1909-1995. David was also the speaker at the annual membership meeting held earlier in the day.

John Mutch accepted the second place Mishler Cataloging Award on behalf of Richard Greever for Richard’s book, Slug-Plate Dies - A Study.

Felix J. Fumero and his son, Felix R. Fumero, accept the third place Mischler Cataloging Award for their study, Hacienda Tokens of Puerto Rico.

David E. Schenkman accepts his first Gold Schenkman Literary Award for the best article in the 2011 TAMS Journal, “The ‘Medicinal’ & Numismatic Legacy of Samuel Taylor Suit.”

Bill Hyder accepts the Silver Schenkman Literary Award on behalf of Michael Wehner for Wehner’s article, “The Denman Grammar School Medals of San Francisco.” Michael was unable to attend the banquet.

Peter Irion presents the Bronze Schenkman Literary Award to Bruce Mosher for his article, “James D. McAvoy’s Defining Moment.”

Installation of Officers:

Cliff Mishler swore in President John Mutch and the new board of of directors.

Incoming President John Mutch presents a ceremonial gavel to retiring President Peter Irion.

President Peter Irion acknowledges and thanks Secretary Kathy Freeland for her work in helping make his tenure a success.

Fun and Prizes:

Cliff Mishler shares the story of the origin of the TAMS Tam before Dorthy Baber’s Tam is auctioned.

Fred Holabird proved to have the deepest pockets and took home the Tam.

Paul Cunningham was the lucky raffle winner who took home an autographed copy of the Fumeros’ Hacienda Tokens of Puerto Rico.

Seen around the ANA Convention:

Mark & Myrna Lighterman both receive the Medal of Merit at the ANA’s Awards Presentation.

David Schenkman receives the Lifetime Achievement Award from President Tom Hallenbeck.

President John Mutch receives the 50th Anniversary Plaque on behalf of TAMS.

TAMS member Ernie Nagy receives the 1st place Heath Literary Award for his article “Great Numismatic Moments in American Literature” published in the Sept. 2011 Numismatist shown here with ANA Board members Scott Rottinghaus and Greg Lyon.

And While we’re at it! More Awards at the NLG Bash

Best Specialized Book – Tokens and Medals – William D. Hyder & Jeff Shevlin -“Discover the World of Charbneau So-Called Dollars”
• Best Article – Tokens and Medals – Fred Reed – “Not the Lincoln You Know” written for Coin World
• Best Writer in NLG Newsletter – Pete Smith – “Now There are 6”
• Best US Commercial Numismatic Magazine Article – David T. Alexander – “10 Most Interesting American Medals” – written for Coinage